From 44670a098f15e831228e9538a1a42772377d0ad6 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001 From: KN4CK3R Date: Mon, 4 Mar 2024 09:16:03 +0100 Subject: [PATCH] Add user blocking (#29028) Fixes #17453 This PR adds the abbility to block a user from a personal account or organization to restrict how the blocked user can interact with the blocker. The docs explain what's the consequence of blocking a user. Screenshots: ![grafik](https://github.com/go-gitea/gitea/assets/1666336/4ed884f3-e06a-4862-afd3-3b8aa2488dc6) ![grafik](https://github.com/go-gitea/gitea/assets/1666336/ae6d4981-f252-4f50-a429-04f0f9f1cdf1) ![grafik](https://github.com/go-gitea/gitea/assets/1666336/ca153599-5b0f-4b4a-90fe-18bdfd6f0b6b) --------- Co-authored-by: Lauris BH --- usage/blocking-users.en-us.md | 56 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ 1 file changed, 56 insertions(+) create mode 100644 usage/blocking-users.en-us.md diff --git a/usage/blocking-users.en-us.md b/usage/blocking-users.en-us.md new file mode 100644 index 00000000..b59bbe4d --- /dev/null +++ b/usage/blocking-users.en-us.md @@ -0,0 +1,56 @@ +--- +date: "2024-01-31T00:00:00+00:00" +title: "Blocking a user" +slug: "blocking-user" +sidebar_position: 25 +toc: false +draft: false +aliases: + - /en-us/webhooks +menu: + sidebar: + parent: "usage" + name: "Blocking a user" + sidebar_position: 30 + identifier: "blocking-user" +--- + +# Blocking a user + +Gitea supports blocking of users to restrict how they can interact with you and your content. + +You can block a user in your account settings, from the user's profile or from comments created by the user. +The user is not directly notified about the block, but they can notice they are blocked when they attempt to interact with you. +Organization owners can block anyone who is not a member of the organization too. +If a blocked user has admin permissions, they can still perform all actions even if blocked. + +### When you block a user + +- the user stops following you +- you stop following the user +- the user's stars are removed from your repositories +- your stars are removed from their repositories +- the user stops watching your repositories +- you stop watching their repositories +- the user's issue assignments are removed from your repositories +- your issue assignments are removed from their repositories +- the user is removed as a collaborator on your repositories +- you are removed as a collaborator on their repositories +- any pending repository transfers to or from the blocked user are canceled + +### When you block a user, the user cannot + +- follow you +- watch your repositories +- star your repositories +- fork your repositories +- transfer repositories to you +- open issues or pull requests on your repositories +- comment on issues or pull requests you've created +- comment on issues or pull requests on your repositories +- react to your comments on issues or pull requests +- react to comments on issues or pull requests on your repositories +- assign you to issues or pull requests +- add you as a collaborator on their repositories +- send you notifications by @mentioning your username +- be added as team member (if blocked by an organization)